Help Us Celebrate Laura’s Birthday!

Laura’s birthday is Feburary 7th and we want to celebrate!

laura

Please send us a picture of yourself reading your favorite Little House book – or – let us know how old you were when you first read her books & why you love your favorite story!

All entries will be featured on our Facebook page and on our blog on Laura’s birthday.

Deadline for submissions is February 6th at noon.

A winner will be randomly selected and will receive a copy of the newly-released Pioneer Girl book (a $40 value). The winner will be announced on Laura’s birthday!61YZng7epZL

To enter email us at: info@discoverlaura.org

20 comments on “Help Us Celebrate Laura’s Birthday!

  1. Marsha Heien says:

    I tried to email this to the info@discoverlaura.org address at the end of this but it came back as delivery failure. So I will reply to this address and hope it gets through.

    I’m afraid I was in high school before I discovered Laura. I was working in my first job as a library clerk in the Library Supervisor’s office at an elementary school library. Another clerk and I were shelving books and she mentioned, “Here is Little House on the Prairie,” It was my favorite series of books when I was a little girl.” I didn’t know what she was talking about so I checked out the series and read them that week. A few years ago I was able to visit Rocky Ridge Farm in Mansfield, MO. I live in Stuttgart, Arkansas, so it is a day’s drive for me. But I still feel fortunate that I can visit one of Laura’s sites. I have been there several times and am a Life Member of the Association. I am trying to decide on my favorite book of the series. It is hard as I like them all. I wish Laura had written more of her life after they arrived in Mansfield. I have read the magazine articles she wrote that have been compiled in several different books, but I wish we had more of her thoughts and memories of her Mansfield years. I guess I would have to say that one of my favorite stories is from the first book, Big Woods, of the Xmas gatherings of all the family at Laura’s house and the good times she had then. I think she was just a remarkable woman. She went from traveling in a covered horse-drawn wagon as a little girl to flying in a plane to visit Rose in her later years. I so glad there are so many Associations and societies keeping her legacy alive. Marsha Heien1309 S. Maple St.Stuttgart, Arkansas 72160870-673-1430 Date: Wed, 28 Jan 2015 14:21:02 +0000 To: mlheien@hotmail.com

  2. Etta Coil says:

    When I was in about the 4th grade, I read Little House on the Prairie. As an adult, I re-read it and the whole series while recovering from surgery. I had watched the TV series, but so much enjoyed reading the books. I bought and read the Rose series, the Martha series and the Caroline series as well. Plus some other miscellaneous books about Laura too. Because of financial reasons, I haven’t been able to add to my collection lately, but would love to win Pioneer Girl. Thank you for celebrating Laura’s birthday and the chance to win. Etta

  3. Bonnie Traher says:

    It seems I have loved reading for so many years that I tend to forget just when. Have always loved books by Laura Ingalls Wilder and plan on sharing this with my baby granddaughter.

  4. Deena Goodale says:

    A Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy
    The year Laura died was the year I came into this world—1957—but the stories of Laura’s pioneer childhood became a part of my life a few years later. At a young age, books held an interest for me and soon grew into a pastime that sometimes led to reading into the wee hours of the night—especially during the summertime!

    As a child, nightly bedtime reading, which included books from the Laura Ingalls Wilder collection, was time I enjoyed with my mother. Her love of reading was passed onto me during this special time we spent together.
    During the Christmas of 1969, a favorite gift received was the book “These Happy Golden Years” which sits in my bookcase amongst a collection of other “Little House” books authored by Laura. Within a few short years of receiving the book, “The Little House on the Prairie” television series, which aired from 1974 to 1983, became a favorite for both my mother and I.
    Although I had read all of the Little House books as a child and teenager, a few years ago, my interest was sparked once again when my daughter entered fourth grade and needed book reading suggestions for book reports. At that time, I suggested she read the Little House books which she had received from my mother, her grandmother, a couple of years before. While her classmates chose more contemporary authored books, I thought she would enjoy what I had enjoyed from my childhood. Here is a picture of her dressed as Laura the child and holding a picture of Laura the adult.

    Thus began our tradition of reading the books together at bedtime just like my mother had done with me. In my spare time, I began to read other books written about Laura, her mother, and her grandmothers as well as books written about her daughter Rose. At the end of my daughter’s fifth grade year, during our two year Laura Ingalls Wilder book frenzy, we tucked in a trip to DeSmet, South Dakota and to the Banks of Plum Creek in Minnesota. Here is another picture of my daughter who was one of the participants in the “Laura Look-alike” contest.

    There were so many great Laura stories, it is difficult to choose just one favorite; but if I had to choose, I would choose the story about Laura attending a birthday party for her classmate Nellie. Over the years, my daughter and I have come to classify some people as “Nellie Olson’s”! In this day and age, many may not know to whom we refer; and, if so, they have missed the great legacy left to us by Laura Ingalls Wilder and shared by three generations from my mother (pictured below) to me and lastly to my daughter. I hope the legacy of reading will continue for many generations to come.

    Note: I could not send this via email and I had pictures to go along with this. Is there an alternative email?

  5. Kathy Schopp says:

    I was always an avid reader. I remember my mother bringing me “Little House in the Big Woods” home from the library for me.
    I think she saw it on a suggested reading list. I don’t know but I do know that I enjoyed it immensely and then went on to look for and read the rest of the series and then disappointed when I couldn’t find anymore.. A few years later I do remember finding “on the Way Home”. and was so happy to find more Laura.

    I of course, had to watch the TV series as I had read the books and was also a fan of Michael Landon, who I had grown up watching on “Bonanza”. ( it was the only show my Dad had time to watch during my early childhood and I have very fond memories of sitting with him on Sunday nights and viewing it after the Wonderful world of Disney).

    I got away from Laura for a number of years during high School and college but always remembered the books when suggesting something for nieces and cousins to read.

    Thanks to the Internet in the past 10 years or so, I have rediscovered and expanded my knowledge of Laura’s world through websites and have managed to finally get copies of the books for myself and have began to add some of the Rose books to my collection as well as the biographies of some of the TV actresses. I have also watched some of the more recent screen adaptations of the books and was able to see ” Little House on the Prairie” the Stage show when it came to the Fox Theatre in St. Louis, with Melissa Gilbert as Ma.

    In late 2012 I was able to make the trip to Mansfield, MO to see the house in Rocky Ridge and visit Laura’s Grave. I would love to make it to the other homesites some day.

    I still share Little House with my Dad, and I thank my late mother for getting me started on Discovering Laura.

    Happy Birthday, Laura

  6. Marilyn Collins says:

    I did not discover Laura and her books until I was an adult. When my sisters and I started reading the books, what a treat. These are the type of books you want and can read over and over! The writing is so explicit that you actually feel like you are there with the family. You can feel the heat of the Minnesota Summers and the brutal snowy Winters. It is hard to pick a favorite because I would feel like I am hurting a best friend’s feelings. I would have to admit that I love each and everyone of the books.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAURA

  7. I also had a problem with trying to send an email reply – so here is my contest entry.
    I first discovered Laura in the 2nd grade. We had a library next to our school and if we got permission, we were allowed to go browse and check out books. Already a bookworm, I loved browsing through all the newest adventures. One day I discovered Laura’s books – way on the top shelf. Can still remembering standing on tiptoe to reach “Little House in the Big Woods.” Needless to say, I’d found an author who had a profound effect on my life.

    Even though I didn’t quite understand all the books at that age, I read through the whole series. Laura became my “imaginary friend.” My Barbie dolls became the Ingalls family and I learned to make covered wagons out of shoe boxes, tried to make a rag rug (not successful – LOL), learned to sew pioneer clothes (moderately successful) and discovered that someday I wanted to write like Laura.

    Through the years I read and re-read Laura’s books. At an early age, I discovered that there were people who were trying to save Laura’s home in Mansfield. At one point William Anderson sent me a personal letter when I asked him about Rose. I still have a Charlotte doll and china shepherdess that I purchased through the early museum gift shop.

    For my 50th birthday, my sister took me to several of the Little House sites. We finally got to Mansfield! It was a dream come true. That same year, my first book was published and I had fulfilled that dream – I was a writer like Laura. 🙂

    Laura was so much a part of my life (and still is) that it’s hard to put into words what she has meant to me. I’m sure other ‘fans’ understand what I mean though. In fact, I finally got to ‘thank’ Laura in a small way by partially dedicating one of my books to her. In April 2014, my ebook, “Roses are Red, Diamonds are Blue,” was published. I was able to make my main character – Laura – someone else who loved the “Little House” books. In fact, there are clues in the mystery that only a Laura fan would know. Would you know how to figure out the mystery phrase, “the badger not the bridge?”

    Picking a favorite Little House book is like asking someone which of their children is their favorite! But if I had to pick, it would be “By the Shores of Silver Lake.” Loved the idea of the family taking in boarders to help pay for Mary’s college, their friendship with the Boasts and Laura running ahead to find that pantry stocked with winter supplies. There’s just something about it that makes me feel warm and cozy.

  8. Daniela says:

    I’m far too glad to have found this blog and to arrive still in time to take part to Laura’s birthday celebration, I didn’t know she was born on February 7th, just one day after me !
    Well, I’m writing from italy and here the series of the ‘Little house in the Prairie’ arrived for the first time when I was just a little girl, aged 6, if I’m not mistaken, and I soon felt enchanted by this world I’ve always dreamed about and by this personage above all, the sweetness and the strenght of her personality caught me soon and fascinated me so much, I’d have loved to have her as my best friend, and in my fantasy world she was, I thought her to be a good example for every girl to follow !
    Later, much later, I knew that it was a true story and that Laura lived for real, and it made me appreciate everything even much more.
    I’m so thankful to who has decided to start and take care of this blog, I’m going and follow it with much love …. And I wonder if I’ll be so lucky to win, that’s would be a wonderful birthday gift to me too !
    Sending blessings
    Dany

  9. Joan Collins says:

    Every book took me into Laura and her family’s life. How can you choose a favorite.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAURA

  10. Marion says:

    Every book is a treasure of the past and life of The Ingalls Family, there is no favorite. The books are all wonderful!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAURA
    Marion

  11. Lisa Philip says:

    When I was about 8 or 9 years old, my friend and began reading Laura’s Little House books from the school library. From then, I read them every few years. Now in my late 40’s, I think the last time I read any of them would be about 7/8 years. I love all of them, including Farmer Boy and The First four Years, picking a favourite is hard.
    Happy birthday Laura, and thanks for the wonderful stories!

  12. Lisa Philip says:

    The above comment should read ‘my friend and I’

  13. I tried to email mine, but it was returned, as well. I emailed it to Cheryl after I called, but have yet to see where the submissions are located. I will post it here:)
    “It was Christmas 1973 when my father gave me the boxed set of Little House books. I was seven years old and my parents had recently divorced. At the time, Laura’s books were an escape for me. I read each one with anticipation and remember wishing I could time travel to meet her and experience the pioneer living she wrote of.

    Through the years I reread each one of her books and experienced it anew as it connected to my life somehow. Laura’s relationship with Nellie mirrored my relationship with a neighbor girl and I recall wishing there was a creek nearby in which leeches waited hungrily for her bare legs. I reread the entire set again as a teenager and relished each word of Laura’s coming of age and how it must have made her feel when Almanzo came to pick her up that first Friday at the Brewster home. When I was pregnant with each of my five children, I reread the series with added emotion.

    As my children grew I read the books to all of them so that they were able to experience a part of my childhood. They found it fascinating that we lived in Oregon, a place where Pa had wanted to go so badly. I was able to experience all the books with new eyes through each of my children.

    In the past several years I have enjoyed visiting some of the places where Laura lived. I remember breaking down in tears at Rocky Ridge Farm. It seemed silly at the time, but I knew it was something only readers who loved her books as much as I did could understand. While moving from Oregon to New York in 2011 to work on my PhD, my youngest and I stopped in for a few days at DeSmet, South Dakota. We both remember those days fondly.

    As I write this, my youngest child has just turned 18. I know her childhood was richer because of knowing these books, just as mine was. Laura taught us that the best things in life cannot be purchased, but only experienced; the love and support of family, social gatherings with friends, the prairie wind on your face, a sip of lemonade of a hot day, and the satisfaction of knowing you did your best.

    I cannot choose a favorite book of Laura’s because at different times during my life, each one has been a favorite. As her birthday approaches, it’s the perfect time to get reacquainted with my favorite series. Happy Birthday Laura!”

    Katrina Ohlemiller
    Temple Terrace, Florida
    February 1, 2015
    katrinaohlemiller@gmail.com

  14. Barbara Freeman says:

    This has been fun reading so much about Laura Ingalls Wilder and her history here on this website. Thank You for that! I did not know when her birthday was. I confess I have not read the books, but, I always enjoyed the show. Then to find out that Mary never did marry or have children is interesting, and a little sad in some ways. I agree it is too bad that Rose never had any children survive. what I find amazing is how long Laura and her husband actually lived!! Especially during the pioneer days and the early years of the 1900s. The history is long and incredible! I am now really eager to read her autobiography. I am more into those types of readings, but, now that I am older, I am interested in reading the series. I grew up in the 80s as a child, and my Father’s side of the family is from South Dakota and Nebraska. I sometimes wonder if they ever knew of the Ingalls, but, it was such a time that the books were not written yet, that it’s possible they didn’t ever know of them, until my Grandma was an adult living out of South Dakota possibly. i will never know possibly, as she has since passed away.

    • Tania Regina Pucci Feliciano Braga says:

      Eu Amo Laura Ingalls Wilder e toda sua família!!!
      Parabéns aniversario!!!
      Já escrevi em comentários o que sinto, apareceu que estaria em outros. Lá pude expressar meu amor. Gostaria que estivesse aqui meu comentário.
      Obrigada a Laura Ingalls Wilder por ter feito e fazer minha vida mais feliz, quando estou com ela.
      Já li e reli muito a serie de 9 livros que consegui, em português (brasileiro).
      Gostaria muito de visitar todos lugares e a casa onde Laura viveu. Ver o violino de Pa. Ver as lembranças que PA fez para Ma. Enfim, poder ter oportunidade de viver um pouco sua realidade maravilhosa!!!
      Queria morar em cidade próxima, para vivenciar tudo,lamento moro outro país, no Brasil.
      Tania Regina Pucci Feliciano Braga.

  15. Renee Moore says:

    Can you please let us know us won the book . Thanks Renee Moore

Leave a Reply

