Meet our Team: Cheryl

IMG_9727

Please tell us a little about yourself:

I was born and raised here in De Smet. As a child, I remember going to the library and checking out the Little House books. They still have a few copies in the back with my 1960s kid-scrawled handwriting in the front of those books. In my free time, I like to garden and sew – especially American Girl doll clothing.

What do you prefer: coffee or tea?

I’m partial to tea!

How long have you been working at the Laura Ingalls Wilder Memorial Society?

I started in 1990 and worked as a tour guide for five years and then I became the office manager. In 2003, I became the director.

What is your role at the Society?

My official title is director. I manage the day-to-day operations. In a given week I might work on wallpapering the Ingalls Home, giving a tour, working on creating a new Laura Ingalls Wilder calendar and planning field trips. We are a small, non-profit organization – I wear many hats!

Which book in the Little House series is your favorite?

Hum, it is probably a toss-up for me between The Little Town on the Prairie and These Happy Golden Years. I enjoy the romance of Laura and Almanzo, but I love Laura’s teen years in De Smet. While she was living in De Smet, it was a youthful season of her life, before all the worries of being an adult.

Which book about Laura’s life and legacy is your favorite?

Becoming Laura Ingalls Wilder by John Miller. It is a wealth of information about Laura! The author includes footnotes, so you can see where his ideas about Laura came from. It provides a clear knowledge of her.

 What projects are you excited about working on right now?

Oh! That’s easy! Right now, I am working on a book called The Images of De Smet. The photos are all old postcards. Just today, we had four more postcards come in that I had never, ever seen in my life. A De Smet resident just had them at their home. We scanned the photos and they will be included. I think we have enough photos and information for four books and we’d still have some leftover!

Which of the historic buildings on the Historic Homes tour is your favorite?

I’d have to say the Ingalls Home. I have spent hours and hours working there documenting artifacts, painting and preserving. I find it to be a very peaceful house. I always think, “If walls could talk!”

If you were giving a tour of the Historic Homes and only had time to show visitors two artifacts, which two would they be?

First, I would show them Pa’s big green animal book. In By the Shores of Silver Lake, the girls were playing outside and they saw a bird. They asked Pa what the bird was and he got out that book to help the girls identify the bird. I can show you the picture of the bird right there in the book!

Second, I am really fond of our collection of letters between Aubrey Sherwood and Laura. She writes to him a little about her memories from De Smet. Being a hometown girl, that is really neat for me to read.

 

7 comments on “Meet our Team: Cheryl

  1. Connie in Colorado says:

    Nice interview! Thanks for sharing how your interest in Laura and Little Town on the Prairie began. The postcard book sounds like a wonderful project. Are there plans to publish in book-form the correspondence between Wilder and Sherwood?

    Best wishes for the new 2014 your season!

    Connie in Colorado

  2. Gina Terrana says:

    The exchange of letters between Aubrey Sherwood and Laura Ingalls Wilder would make a good book. Hint, hint!

  3. Elizabeth Holcomb says:

    Hello, I’ve asked every LIW source I can think of this question and no one knows the answer! What became of the original china shepherdess? Someone thought Carrie had it and that it is on display in a museum, but not in DeSmet. Does anyone know what became of her? She went everywhere with the Ingalls and home wasn’t home until she was on the shelf.

  4. Nice interview! I love all things Laura and visited DeSmet in 06? I was so very tired at the time that the visit is a bit of a blur. I wish I could visit there with a fresh body and mind! Keep up the great work! ♥

  5. Beverly York says:

    Are there any plans to reprint & sell, “Pa’s Big Green Animal Book”? I’d LOVE a copy … also, “Dickey Bird” book? Are they for sale anywhere?

  6. roy jenkins says:

    almanzo wilder iam sure he still has family somewhere he had some brothers and a sister

Leave a Reply

